Smut Shelf Review: Best Sex Writing 2012

on March 16, 2012

Best Sex Writing 2012

I’m an anthology fiend. The idea of one book with many stories is an amazing thing to me, like stacking dolls full of interesting concepts. That said, the idea of an anthology written with sex as a central theme is even more appealing.

My beloved smut shelf is full of other tomes of Bussel’s editorial endeavorsĀ (Yes, Sir is lovingly dog-eared by now) so I knew I was in for a treat when I got the virtual book tour email I was anxiously awaiting. Best Sex Writing 2012 is not “smut” per se, despite its place on the aforementioned shelf – it’s actually a very well assembled collection of pieces about sex and sexual culture that forces the reader to think. I’ve had my head buried in erotica and sci-fi for so long, I’d nearly forgotten what informative writing “felt” like, and I’ve just been quite pleasantly reminded.

These are not dry facts and figures, news stories that you’d gloss over in search of something more engaging. These are works that sit up and demand you join them, leading the reader on a journey through cultural and intellectual territory. My usual detachment got tossed over a shoulder as I settled in for tales of congressional misconduct, a rare voice in support of circumcision, and a surprisingly touching story of a widow’s encounter with an erotic masseur that made me tear up halfway through. This year’s edition starts out with insightful words from the editrix and a foreword from another great anthology-wrangler, Susie Bright. Twenty-four gems lurk between the pages, ready to educate the reader in everything from LGBT and queer culture to media misconceptions on buzz-worthy topics like sex work and dating with STDs.

An excellent mix of familiar this-is-my-life stories interspersed with broader treatments of headline-making movements and figures, I’d be surprised if readers of any bent don’t find at least a handful of pieces here that grab their attention and refuse to let go. If you’re looking for an interesting read, do yourself a favor and snag a copy of Best Sex Writing 2012. Your hand may not end up down your pants while you’re reading, but don’t be surprised to find it in your hair. Stimulation, after all, comes in many different forms.


One response to “Smut Shelf Review: Best Sex Writing 2012

  1. […] 13: Kiki DeLovely March 14: The Yummy Girl March 15: Del Carmen March 16: Eronbintica March 17: Toy Chick Blog March 18: Sweat Pants Revolution March 19: Indigo’s Theory March 20: Robin’s Toy Nest […]

Leave a Reply

